0845 474 4572
info@eurospanbookstore.com

Not Yet Available - Pre-Order Now

Hysteria

A Memoir of Illness, Strength and Women's Stories Throughout History

Katerina Bryant (author)

ISBN: 9781742236773

Publication Date: Sep 2020

Format: Paperback

Katerina Bryant's debut Hysteria is an astounding hybrid memoir exploring chronic mental illness and the treatment of women's health throughout history. In the tradition of Siri Hustvedt's The Shaking Woman, Bryant blends memoir with literary and historical analysis to explore women's medical treatment.
£17.50

Not Yet Published - Pre-Order Now

  • Full Description
  • More Information
  • Author Biography
  • Customer Reviews
Katerina Bryant's debut Hysteria is an astounding hybrid memoir exploring chronic mental illness and the treatment of women's health throughout history.

When Katerina Bryant suddenly began experiencing chronic seizures, she was plunged into a foreign world of doctors and psychiatrists, who understood her condition as little as she did. Reacting the only way she knew how, she immersed herself in books, reading her way through her own complicated diagnosis and finding a community of women who shared similar experiences.

In the tradition of Siri Hustvedt's The Shaking Woman, Bryant blends memoir with literary and historical analysis to explore women's medical treatment. Hysteria retells the stories of silenced women, from the ‘Queen of Hysterics' Blanche Wittmann to Mary Glover's illness termed ‘hysterica passio' – a panic attack caused by the movement of the uterus – in London in 1602 and more. By centring these stories of women who had no voice in their own diagnosis and treatment, Bryant finds her own voice: powerful, brave and resonant.
Pages 208
Dimensions 210 x 135
Date Published 30 Sep 2020
Publisher NewSouth Publishing
Subject/s Gender studies: women   History of medicine   Biography & True Stories   Feminism & feminist theory  
Katerina Bryant is a writer based in South Australia. Her work has appeared in Griffith Review, The Lifted Brow, Kill Your Darlings, Southerly, Island Magazine and Voiceworks, amongst others. She has been shortlisted for the 2019 TLB & RMIT non/fiction Lab Prize for Experimental Writing, the 2018 Feminartsy Memoir Prize, and the 2016 Scribe Nonfiction Prize for Young Writers. She has also been anthologised in the collection Balancing Acts: Women in Sport (Brow Books). She is the inaugural recipient of the 2018 Writers SA Varuna Fellowship for Emerging Writers, and has appeared in various panels and events including the Emerging Writers' Festival and National Young Writers' Festival.

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Post your comment

Eurospan Bookstore